Tribal Education Department National Assembly

Sovereignty Serving Students

309 NW 13th St.
Oklahoma City, OK, 73103

Gloria Sly, President

Gloria Sly
Cherokee Nation

Education Services; Government Relations Officer

As a proud member of the Cherokee Nation, Gloria Sly earned her Ph.D. in Education Administration at the University of Oklahoma in 1992. Her area of study was in Curriculum and Supervision with an emphasis in Staff Development Dissertation: A Survey of Effective Staff Development in Schools Implementing School-Based Improvement Programs.

Gloria started her career in Education as the Head Teacher at Ross Preschool in Tahlequah, Oklahoma in 1976 and has since held various positions within and around the Cherokee Nation as an advocate for higher education of American Indians. She has also been involved with multiple organizations such as the National Congress of American Indians and was the President of both National Indian Education Association (2000) and Oklahoma Native Language Association (2009-2010).

With a career span of over 38 years, Gloria currently holds a position as the Education Liaison for the Cherokee Nation as well as being an active member on the Cherokee Nation Institutional Review Board, National Indian Education Association since 1992, and currently serves as the President of the Tribal Education Department National Assembly.

She was the recipient of multiple awards including: the Education Professionals for Indian Children Fellowship (1978-79), Institute for Development of Education Activities Special Fellow (1985), Foundations in Native Education Fellowship (1987-89), and Ford Foundation Scholarship, Linguistic and Language Teaching (2002).

Carrie Whitlow
Cheyenne & Arapaho Tribes

Norma Bixby
Northern Cheyenne

Education: Associates of Arts in Early Childhood, Bachelors of Science in Elementary Education from Montana State University Billings (Formerly Eastern Montana College) at Billings, Montana Masters in Elementary Administration from the New Mexico State University at Las Cruses, New Mexico

Norma, presently, is the Director of the Northern Cheyenne Tribal Education Department at Lame Deer, Montana. She has been a class room teacher’s aide, 4th grade teacher, Title IV Director, Curriculum Specialist and an Elementary Principal. In 2000, she was elected to the Montana State Legislature for House District 41 and served for eight years where she was instrumental in the implementation of Indian Education for all in the State of Montana. Presently, Norma is the Chair of the Montana Advisory Council for Indian Education, Chair of the Montana Committee on Civil rights, on Board of Directors for the Indian Law Resource Center, Helena, Montana and on the Board for the Tribal Education Department National Assembly.

Norma is a strong advocate for improving Indian Education at the state and national level.

Leslie Harper
Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Squaxin Island Tribe

Isaac Salcido
Gila River Indian Community

Vivian Saunders
Ak-Chin Indian Community

Joyce McFarland
Nez Perce

Trudy Jackson
Seneca Nation of Indians

Quinton Roman Nose

Quinton Roman Nose

As an enrolled member of the Cheyenne Arapahoe Tribe, Quinton Roman Nose has dedicated most of his career in the Indian education field to promote and develop educational initiatives and opportunities to improve the educational levels of Native American students and tribal members.

Quinton earned his Master’s degree in Gifted/Talented Education at the Oklahoma City University, Oklahoma City, OK in 1993.

He has served as the President for multiple organizations such as the Oklahoma Indian Higher Education Scholarship Administrators Association (2007-2009), National Indian Education Association from (2009 -2012), and Tribal Education Departments National Assembly (2005-2011) as well as being one of its founding members.

He is on the Board of Trustees at Bacone College in Muskogee, OK, a board member of the Oklahoma Native Youth Language Fair at the University of Oklahoma, and the President of the school board at Riverside Indian School in Anadarko, OK.

Quinton currently serves on the Board of Directors as the Executive Director of Tribal Education Departments National Assembly.